Team GB for the 4th Presidents Cup has been announced

12 July 2017

Gazprom Andrey Goncharenko to join the 2017 Organising Committee

2 July 2017

4th Presidents Cup will be staged in UEL, SportsDock on September 30, 2017

2 July 2017

Latest News

<<< Newer articles Older articles >>>


Lord Simon Reading (right) and Irvin Sellar (left)The Commonwealth is the intergovernmental organization of 53 independent member-states working together in the common interests of their citizens for development, democracy and peace. The Commonwealth is often described as a ‘family’ of nations and peoples, in which countries with diverse social, political and economic backgrounds are regarded as equal in status. The sense of family is most apparent in the wide network of societies, institutions, associations, organisations, funds and charities which support the Commonwealth.


The 53 member countries are: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Seychelles, Sierra-Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Tonga , Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Zambia



Commonwealth Sambo Association was founded on March, 20, 2012 as a non-for-profit organization to work in partnership with International Sambo Federation (FIAS) on the promotion and development of sambo in The Commonwealth. Lord Reading was the first President 2012-2015.

IMG_2925 IMG_2956 Dr Andrew Moshanov talks on FIAS strategic development plans Martin Clark, founder of British Sambo Federation Alex 4 IMG_3409




The Board

The Presidents Cup

 President's Cup Master Logo    2     Edinb  THEPRESIDENTSCUP

               2014                                     2015                                    2016                              2017

_EXN1174    YtZs6CJnTvRcfQ52-P-uZRJeS-j02lMbYfTtUcv4vyc6188c9fed347d2eb76ba


The Presidents Cup

Commonwealth Sambo Association runs the annual events to promote sambo as the international sport in The Commonwealth and facilitate its inclusion in the Commonwealth and eventually Olympic Games. The Presidents Cup remains the milestone event in the calendar of this sport.

The history of the Presidents Cup

Lord Reading, the first President of Commonwealth Sambo (2012-2015) came up with an idea to run the annual international event to promote SAMBO within The Commonwealth and world-wide, which was very well received by the international SAMBO community. The main trophy was designed by Mr. Timur Kabukaev, manufactured at his company Jewellers of North Capital and donated to the organisers. Team Russia won the trophy for two consecutive years in 2014 and 2015, however they are returning the trophy back to UK for the 2016 challenge. The athletes from 20 countries competed for the main trophy so far: France, Germany, Russia, Spain, GB, Trinidad and Tobago, Ghana, Mauritus, Canada, Australia, Singapore, India, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong, Azerbaijan, Cyprus,Kazakhstan, Belorus, Mexico, Nicaragua.

Organising Committee


HRH Princess Katarina is the chairman of the organising committee of the III International Sambo Tournament “Presidents Cup”Princess Katarina is a member of two Royal Dynasties. She is a member of The British Royal Family and The Serbian Royal Family of Karagjorgevich. HRH works closely with British and International organisations, and is also &nbsp;President of Guild of Travel and Tourism, President of the Foundation of Medieval Genealogy and a Trustee of the Katie Cutler Foundation.



Lord-Lieutenant Melville Jameson, CBE ;Michael Wynne Parker; Lady Olga Maitland ;  Lieutenant-Colonel Nick Turner;   Robin Hyslop ; Felix Evtushenkov; Count Nikolay Tolstoy-Miloslavsky;  Vasily Shestakov;  President; Sergey Eliseev, Alexander Kuznetsov; Steve Crutchley; Matthew Clempner; Andrew Moshanov; Leo Malim; Alexander Semjonov.


Contact Us


Sambo in The Commonwealth

coming soon